Friday, September 27, 2013

Friday's Featured Freebie: The Gatekeeper's Sons by Eva Pohler

I stumbled upon this Greek Mythology, young adult romance ebook by accident the other day. It was on a couple of Amazon's best selling free book lists, which is an oxymoron but whatever. And it has a 3.99 out of 5 rating on Goodreads. It is was also a great find concerning I am waiting for the release of another mythology book, House of Hades by Rick Riordan which is coming out October 8th. The Gatekeeper's Sons takes a more intimate look at Hades' sons, Hypnos and Thanatos. I love reading books based on Greek Mythology and since I am not really versed in story of Hades' twins, Hynos and Thanatos, I can't wait start this. 

The Gatekeeper's Sons (Gatekeeper's Saga #1)
by Eva Pohler 
Currently Free on Amazon and Barnes & Noble

Fifteen-year-old Therese watches her parents die. While in a coma, she meets the twin sons of Hades—Hypnos, the god of sleep, and Thanatos, the god of death. She thinks she's manipulating a dream, not kissing the god of death and totally rocking his world.

Than makes a deal with Hades and goes as a mortal to the Upperworld to try and win Therese's heart, but not all the gods are happy. Some give her gifts. Others try to kill her.

The deal requires Therese to avenge the death of her parents. With the help of Than’s fierce and exotic sisters, the Furies, she finds herself in an arena face to face with the murderer, and only one will survive. - Goodreads

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #8

Hey all!  Where has this week gone by?  It's Wednesday already.  I don't know about you, but the GEICO commercial with the camel about hump day is spreading like mad around here.  It's starting to get a little old and people are taking it way beyond posting things on facebook.  In the office today, someone was dressed up like a camel.  Not kidding, a little shocking, what was even more shocking was watching our CEO chasing them around with his camera phone.  Anyways, Wednesday, right.  So you know what that means?  What book are we waiting on this Wednesday?  Good question.  I really wanted this week to feature S.A. Bolich's Seaborn (Masters of the Elements, #3), but I have no cover, no synopsis, and no official release date.  Can't really write anything about it without any of that information, so I think next on my list is Champion  (Legend, #3) by Marie Lu.  One thing that I love about Goodreads is the recommendation feature.  I think Legend has been on my list of recommendations for over a year now.  Once I realized that Champion is being released on November 5th, these books have moved right to the top of my TBR list.  I'm planning on reading Legend and Prodigy before the release of Champion.

Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu
Release Date: November 5, 2013

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? 

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

This is this week's Top Ten Tuesday, which is hosted by The Broke & the Bookish.

This week's topic: Top Ten Best Sequels Ever - These are not in any particular order.

1. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. Here is the test of a good book. You have to re-read the ending because your were reading it so fast that you didn't understand what happened.

2. Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. Melissa and I both love Tyson. Also never have I seen my boyfriend laugh so much for a book as he has for Sea of Monsters.

3. The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson. Lisabeth gets her revenge and it is sooo sweet.

4. Forsaken by Heather Fleener. This is my favorite book in the Ancients of Light series so far. Nicholas' bad boy demeanor is so damn sexy.

5.Fire by Kristin Cashore. My favorite in the Graceling series even though I love them all. The land of Dells is beyond enchanting. Fire is an amazing and fascinating female protagonist. Just talking about this book makes me want to read it all over again.

6. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver. Alex is dead. Lena stumbles upon Raven (I love her character). Lena starts falling in love with the enemy's son. Sound enticing? Why yes indeed. 

7. Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Melissa has been talking about these books nonstop since she started book #0.5 in the Lux series last week while she was in Nashville. Check out her review.

8. The Second Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares. I loved watching the girls' relationships and friendships grow and change throughout this book. This reminds me that I need to read the final book in this series.

9. Fool Moon by Jim Butcher. Harry Dresden takes a look at an unusual murder.

10. Insurgent by Veronica Roth. So many questions answered but so many new questions raised.  

What is on your top ten best sequels list?

Sunday, September 22, 2013

Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon Wrap-up

I did better than I expected for my first read-a-thon. There was only one goal I didn't meet. I want to thank Colorimetry and Tressa’s Wishful Endings for hosting the Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon. It was a great experience. I will definitely be participating in more read-a-thons in the future. The only problem was that I added more books to my TBR list during these past two weeks than I actually read, but that really can't be helped.

1. Read at least 1 hour everyday.
2. Finish 4 books. 
3. Keep up with my memes while this is going on.
4. Visit all the participants' blogs at least once. - I visited only about 3/4 of participants blogs.

Total finished books: 5 + a novella
Titles of finished books: Room, Oath of Servitude, The Transfer, The Selection, The Elite, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Showcase Sunday #8

Showcase Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by Vicky at Books, Biscuits and Tea where you show what books you've purchased, borrowed, checked out from the library, received from giveaway, etc.

Bought:  As you all know by now, sorry if I keep repeating myself, I was traveling for work and bought the entire set of the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. 

Borrowed: Rachel had some fun at the Library and picked up these books.  I swear that they need to limit her on how many books she can check out, I think this makes 30 books she has and needs to read.  Either she will be returning a lot of them without reading or she will have a hefty Library fine.  Rachel picked up the following:

~Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
~The Selection (The Selection, #1) by Kiera Cass
~The Elite (The Selection, #2) by Kiera Cass
~Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1) by James Dashner
~The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2) by James Dashner
~The Death Cure (Maze Runner, #3) by James Dashner
~Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

What did you pick up this week?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...